Tags

, , ,

“The Son of Man will sit on the throne of his glory when he comes in triumph and all the holy angels will be him. All the people of the world shall be gathered before him, and he will separate them in the same way that a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

 

Then the King shall say to the sheep, ‘You who are blessed by my Father in heaven, come into the kingdom that has been prepared for you since the beginning of the world. This is because when I was hungry you gave me food. When I was thirsty you gave me something to drink. When I was a stranger you made me feel welcome. When I was naked you clothed me. When I was sick you took care of me, and when I was in prison you visited me.’
Then those who are righteous will reply, ‘Lord, when did we do all these things?’

 

And the King will answer, ‘Be assured, whatever you did to take care of the poorest member of my kingdom, you did to me.’

 

Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Get away from me, you cursed ones, and go into the eternal fire that is reserved for the devil and his minions! For when I was hungry, you left me to starve. When I was thirsty you gave me nothing to quench my thirst. When I was a stranger you ignored me. When I was naked you didn’t share your clothes. When I was sick and in prison you didn’t take care of me.”
Then they too will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you and not do these things?’

 

Then he will answer them, ‘Be assured, whatever you did not do to take care of the poorest member of my kingdom, you did not do for me either.’
And then they will go away to their eternal punishment, but the righteous will go into everlasting life.”
MT 25:31-46