Tags

, , , ,

Jesus traveled out to the Judean countryside with his disciples.  They stayed for a while there and baptized people.

John had not been imprisoned by this point.  He was baptizing in Aenon, near Salim, because there was a lot of water there.

Then John’s disciples and the Jews began to argue about the ritual of purification.  They told John, “Teacher, the one who you said was the Messiah, who was with you on the other side of the Jordan, is baptizing too, and everyone is going to him.”

John answered, “Nothing can be received unless God gives it to you. You know that I said I am not the Messiah, but that I’ve been sent to prepare the way for him.  The groom has the bride, but the groom’s friend simply stands by and waits on him, celebrating when he hears him.  My joy is complete.  He must increase in greatness, but I must become lesser.”

JN 3:22-30