Tags

,

Then Jesus again said “I’m leaving; you’ll search for me, and die in your sinfulness.  You won’t be able to follow me where I’m going.”

The Jewish authorities said “He isn’t planning on suicide, is he, when he says ‘You won’t be able to follow me where I’m going.’?”

Jesus told them “You are from the earth, while I am from heaven.  You are of this world, while I am not.  This is why I said you will die in your sinfulness – because you don’t believe in who I am.”

“Who are you, then?” they asked.

“Exactly what I’ve been saying from the start,” Jesus told them.  “There are many things I could say and pass judgment about you, but I won’t now.  The One who sent me is true.  I will tell the world what He has told me.”

They did not realize he was speaking about God.  So Jesus said “When you raise up the Son of Man, then you will know who I am, and that I don’t do anything on my own.  I say whatever the Father has taught me.  The One who sent me is here with me and has never left because I always do what is pleasing to him.”

JN 8:21-29